Photos: Laurens Morel

No wind opening day

No wind off Scheveningen for the opening day of the Nacra 17 Worlds

Monday July 22nd 2013, Author: James Boyd, Location: Netherlands

All racing was cancelled today in the Nacra 17 Worlds in Scheveningen, The Hague.

This morning at 1000 the AP flag was hoisted for both fleets, yellow and blue. In the afternoon a light sea breeze seemed to be filling in and the yellow fleet left the beach. But once in the starting area the wind disappeared again and the catamaran weren't even making headway against the current. At 1600 the race committee decided to send the boats back to the beach, but still hoped for wind. At 1830 the decision was made t cancel all racing for the day.

Three races were scheduled today for both fleets. The race committee will look into the possibility to schedule as many races as possible in the remainging days. Wednesday was originally a lay day, but, weather permitting, will now be a racing day.

Normally in conditions like this a sea breeze fills in, so sailors and the race committee are keeping their hopes up for tomorrow and the days after.

Tuesday and Wednesday are for the qualification races, while on Thursday the final series will start with the boats divided into Gold and Silver fleets. On Saturday the Medal race for the Gold and Silver fleet concludes the Worlds.

The Nacra 17 World Championship is being organised by the Foundation Nacra Events, The Dutch Sailing Federation (Watersportverbond) and Sailing Management International with support of (partners) City of The Hague, Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sport and Nacra Sailing International.


Nat Helm Crew
Argentina Lucas Gonzalez Smith Moira Gonzalez Smith
Argentina Irina Pineyrua Franco Greggi
Argentina Cecilia Carranza Saroli Blando Esteban
Australia Josh McKnight Nina Curtis
Australia Euan Mcniol Lucinda Whitty
Australia Pip Pietromonaco James Wierzbowski
Australia Jason Waterhouse Lisa Darmanin
Austria Guido Pasolini Mercedes Zinn-Zinnenburg
Austria Thomas Zajec Tanja Frank
Brazil Clinio de Freitas Claudia Freitas
Bulgaria Alexander Alexandrov Maria Alexandrov
Canada Luke Ramsay Nikola Girke
Denmark Anne-Line Lyngso Thomsen Jacob Dannefer
Denmark Allan Christensen Nahid Gaebler
Finland Ida Voutilainen Anton Store
France Flora Laugier Antoine Joubert
France Billy Besson Marie Riou
France Moana Vaireaux Manon Audinet
France Audrey Ogereau Matthieu Vandame
GER Stefan Rumpf Anna Bettina
GER Charlotte Mueller Maximilian Said
GER Finn Heeg Merle Baars
GER Jacob Lenz Susann Brechlin
GER Julia Bleich Niklas Meyer
Hong Kong Tat Choi Fung Yu Ting Chan
Italy Elia Mazzucchi Giorgia Catarci
Italy Vincenzo Sorrentino Barbara Rinauro
Italy Vittorio Bissario Silvia Sicouri
Italy Francesco Sabatini Marcella Mamusa
Italy Franceso Porro Caterina Banti
Italy Pietro Sibello Lisa Rattemeyer
Italy ferdinando Trambaiolo Carlotta Gianni
Italy Federica Salva Franceso Bianchi
NED Menno Vercouteren Lynn Pieters
NED Mandy Mulder Thijs Visser
NED Renee Groeneveld Karel begemann
NED Elke Delnooz Coen de Koning
New Zealand Nicole van der Velden Tomer Simhony
New Zealand Gareth Moore Vickery Francis
New Zealand Gemma Jones Jason Saunders
Russia Sergey Dzhienbaev Daria Ivanova
Russia Maxim Semonv Alena Pankratova
Spain Elisabet Llargues Masachs Fabian Escude Lavit
Spain Toni Rivas Laia Tutzo
Spain Iker Martinez Tara Pacheco
Spain Mark Verdayer Marina Lopez
Spain Adriana Romano Jacobo Miquel
Suisse Matias Buhler Nathalie Brugger
Suisse Stephanie Rosse Michal Gloor
Sweden Sandra Sandqvist Thomas Westergren
Sweden Tim Shuwalow Hanna Klinga
UK Millie Newman Tim Carter
UK Alicia Clifford Tom Bruton
UK Lucy Macgregor Tom Phipps
UK Pippa Wilson John Gimson
UK Rupert White Nikki Boniface
UK Ben Saxton Hannah Diamond
UK Abby Zambinski Sam Brearey
Ukraine Max Oberemko Olga Misliveti
Uruguay Pablo Defazio Mariana Foglia
US Sandra Tartaglino Tripp Burd
US Michael Easton Wilson McKenzie
US Taylor Reiss Caterine Shananan
US Robbie Daniel Sarah Streater
US Sarah Newberry John Casey
Venzuela Yamil Saba Andrea Saba

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top