Jean-Marie Liot / Normandy Channel Race

22 boats for the Normandy Channel Race

Strong entry once again for the Class40 season opener

Tuesday March 12th 2013, Author: James Boyd, Location: France

14 April will see the start of the fourth Normandy Channel Race. Over 20 Class 40 crews are expected in Caen for the start of this 1,000 mile race on a course will take them across to the Solent, down the southern coast of England, across Ireland and acrounss the Fastnet before returning to the Normandy shore.

In the space of four years, the Normandy Channel Race has become a classic in French offshore racing for the Class 40s.

The fourth edition is returning to its usual April slot, where it will open the Class 40 racing calendar while serving as a qualifier for the Transat Jacques Vabre.

There are currently a record 23 entries for this year’s race, including Sébastien Rogues, Thomas Ruyant, Bruno Jourdren, Ned Collier Wakefield, Armel Tripon, Fabrice Amedeo, Halvard Mabire, Jorg Riechers, Pierre Brasseur, Louis Duc, Nicolas Jossier, Boris Herrmann and Stéphanie Alran.

In last year's race the British crew of Concise, Ned Collier-Wakefield and Sam Goodchild, led the fleet home ahead of Anglo-French duo, Miranda Merron and Halvard Mabire, the latest victory following in the footsteps of the likes of Thomas Ruyant/Tanguy Leglatin and Tanguy de Lamotte/Sébastien Audigane.

The Normandy Channel Race gathers inland in Caen over 11-14 April before the boat make a parade up the canal towards Ouistreham for the start.


Boat No Type Skipper Nat Co-skipper Nat2
  23 Akilaria RC1 Phillippa Hutton-Squire RSA    
PARTOUCHE 113 Pogo 40 s Christophe Coatnoan FRA TBA  
GROUPE PICOTY 85 Pogo 40 s Jean- Christophe Caso FRA Aymeric Chappellier FRA
PHOENIX 65 Akilaria mk 2 (proto) Louis Duc FRA Stéphanie Alran FRA
GEODIS 81 Akilaria RC2 Fabrice Amedeo FRA Armel Tripon FRA
A DEFINIR 107 Kiwi 40 Nicolas Jossier FRA Alexandre Toulorge FRA
KOGANE 91 JPK40 Patrice Bougard FRA Gilles Dadou FRA
OBPORTUS3 60 JPK40 Olivier Roussey FRA Philippe Burger FRA
RED 59 Rogers  Mathias Blumencron GER Boris Herrmann GER
TBD 102 Kiwi 40 Piers Tyler NZL James Stableford GBR
JASMINE FLYER 112 Akilaria RC2 Thibault Reinhart FRA/SUI Nicolas Boidévezi FRA
MOMENTUM OCEAN RACING 93 Akilaria RC2 Dan Dytch GBR Emma Creighton USA
SOLO 36 Express 40 Rune Aasberg NOR Simen Løvgren NOR
AL BUCQ 124 Akilaria RC3 Brieuc Maisonneuve FRA Ned Collier Wakefield GBR
LA BELLE EQUIPE 2 55 Tyker 40 Evo Bruno Rzetelny FRA Vincent Duguay FRA
MARE 115 Mach 40 Jörg riechers GER Pierre Brasseur FRA
LORD JIMINY 119 Tyker 40 Evo 3 Jourdren Bruno FRA Thomas Ruyant FRA
MR BRICOLAGE 109 Pogo 40 s Damien Rousseau FRA Benjamin Develay FRA
TBC 68 Pogo 40 s Pierre-Yves Lautrou FRA TBC FRA
SWISH 52 Rogers  Roderick Knowles GBR Paul Peggs GBR
EÄRWEN 88 Tyker 40 Evo Catherine Pourre FRA Goulven Royer FRA
GDF SUEZ 130 Mach 40 Sebastien Rogues FRA Sebastien Rogues FRA
CAMPAGNE DE FRANCE 101 Pogo 40 s Mabire Halvard FRA Miranda Merron GBR


Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top