'Names' in the JPMorgan Round the Island Race

Paul Goodison and Saskia Clarke joined by Denise van Outen in record-sized fleet

Thursday June 23rd 2011, Author: Peta Stuart-Hunt, Location: United Kingdom

As the Race Management Team at the Island Sailing Club in Cowes commences the countdown to the start of the 80th Anniversary Round the Island Race this Saturday, boats have already started arriving in Cowes.

This year's event has attracted a record number of entries this year, now standing at a phenomenal 1,908 since entries closed last Saturday.

Rod Nicholls, Commodore of the Island Sailing Club, reflects the mood of everyone involved in this year’s Race, saying: “We’re all very excited at the prospect of welcoming a record fleet on the Royal Yacht Squadron line in Cowes early on Saturday morning. We’re hoping for good sailing conditions to help get everyone away on time and safely round the Island.”

The first start is at 0600 when the gun will be fired by TV personality Denise van Outen to commence a series of class starts lasting one hour 40 minutes that sees 11 different classes of boat set off on their epic one-day racing adventure.

The first finisher, taking line honours, but not necessarily winning the famous Gold Roman Bowl, is expected to cross the finish line back in Cowes at around 0930 after completing the 50 nautical mile westabout course. Lionel Lemonchois, outright winner of the 2006 Route du Rhum, looks set to be first home, making his debut in this year's J.P. Morgan Asset Management Round the Island Race aboard his Multi50 trimaran Prince de Bretagne, which won her class in last autumn's Route du Rhum. Lemonchois was also part of Franck Cammas' Groupama 3 team that won the Jules Verne Trophy last year setting a new non-stop round the world record of 48 days 7 hours 44 minutes 52 seconds.

After the excitement of congratulating the crew taking line honours, the team at the Island Sailing Club will be finishing boats throughout the day right up until 10pm, the time that every boat needs to have completed the Race in order to qualify for a result.

This Race is a great opportunity to watch world-renowned sailors racing against families and first timers. Although the majority of the fleet will take many hours to complete the Race, the course records stand at 3 hours 53 mins 5 secs for a monohull, set by Mike Slade on ICAP Leopard in 2008, and 3 hours 8 mins 29 secs for a multihull boat, set by Francis Joyon on his ORMA 60 trimaran in 2001.

One of the famous names to look out for on Saturday is Ben Ainslie, triple Olympic Gold medallist, who is sailing on board the Ker 40 Keronimo alongside navigator Mike Broughton and trimmer Mark Campbell-James among others. The ex-World Cup Rugby player Will Greenwood has also signed on as crew and will be lending a hand to this high profile team.

Also new to the race is the JP54 the fast cruiser-racer designed, and skippered in this year’s Race, by IMOCA 60 skipper Jean-Pierre Dick. Dick has won the 2010-2011 and the 2007-2008 Barcelona World Races and is currently preparing to make his third Vendee Globe.

Commenting on his entry into this 80th Anniversary Race, Dick said: "I have always really wanted to take part in this very fine event, which is certainly one of the best English yachting races. I will be discovering the Round the Island Race for the first time and I am really looking forward to taking part in this sailing festival. I got a lot of pleasure out of sailing in the Tour de Belle-Ile last May. So I am starting the cruiser racing exercise all over again, since it is particularly suited to the JP54. She is comfortable and fast. It will be simply an enjoyable moment with a crew of friends. Of course, our goal is to sail as fast as possible while enjoying the wonderful landscapes around the Isle of Wight, particularly the huge limestone cliffs. It's a magical island!"

Sir Keith Mills will be joined on board the TP52 Team Origin by double Olympic Gold medallist Iain Percy and Olympic Gold medallist Andrew ‘Bart’ Simpson while one of the world’s most famous sailors, Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, will be aboard a Clipper 68 for the circumnavigation of the Isle of Wight.

The fairer sex is also well represented with some superb sailing talent in action. Two of the three Women’s Match Racing Champions, Kate and Lucy Macgregor, are racing in Laser SB3s along with new 470 Women's pairing Hannah Mills and Saskia Clark. They have all qualified for the pre-Olympics test event in Weymouth this August.

Helena Lucas, the 2.4m Paralympic sailor, is skippering a J/109 as part of Team Volvo. Paul Goodison, Laser Olympic Gold medallist and 470 sailor Saskia Clark are also on a J109 but they’re joined by sailing novices Denise van Outen and her friend, actor Chris Parker. Finally, steering another of the Team Volvo boats is Nick Dempsey, also on a J/109 and not in his usual comfort zone aboard his RS:X.

Teenage solo sailing stars Jessica Watson and Michael Perham are teaming up to race together for the first time on a Bavaria 37 Cold Play.

Gipsy Moth IV, the historic yacht that was the home of Sir Francis Chichester when he sailed single-handedly around the world in 1966-67, is to be crewed by young sailors from UKSA.

Dame Ellen MacArthur is sailing on one of six Ellen MacArthur Cancer Trust boats competing this year with young people in recovery from cancer, leukaemia and other illnesses. The Trust is the official charity of the Race in 2011 and 2012 and we wish them all well.

Whether they complete the Race in the allotted time or not, every single entrant in this year’s historic Race will be awarded a commemorative 80th Anniversary tankard.

Donations can be made to the Race Charity the Ellen MacArthur Cancer Trust here.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top