Perfect scoreline

France's Laurent Hay doing an Ainslie at the Finn World Masters

Tuesday June 2nd 2009, Author: Robert Deaves, Location: United Kingdom
While those around him were losing their heads in the blazing French sun, local favourite Laurent Hay (FRA) steered a steady course to win both his heats on day two at the Finn World Masters in Maubuisson, France, to extend his lead at the head of the 264 boat fleet.

Brilliant sunshine and great sailing conditions were the order of the day. Two wins for Hay gives him a perfect score sheet after three races. Second placed Michael Maier (CZE), the 2006 Masters world champion, placed second and first, to end the day in second overall, just three point behind Hay at the mid-way stage of the qualification races.

The heats for race 2 started at 12.00 with a shifty 15 knot breeze, gusting up to 20 knots with even bigger shifts by the finish. Maier initially led the left side of his course but just lost out to defending champion Andre Budzien (GER) at the windward mark, but Budzien was scored BFD. The race win finally went to Allen Burrell (GBR) with a comfortable 100 meter margin, after taking the lead by going left on second beat. Roberto Bosetti (ITA) and Maier picked up a second apiece while Jurgen Eiermann (GER) and Stephane Alexis (FRA) finished third in their respective heats.

Race 3 was also sailed in 10-15 knots, but with more regular shifts. Hay came from the port end and again showed great speed to take the lead and extend throughout the race for his second win of the day. Maier had finally found his form and won his heat comfortably from Budzien in second. Eiermann also picked up a second to finish the day in third place overall, while third places in the two heats went to fellow countrymen Jan Willem Kok (NED) and Gerko Visser (NED).

Kok, who won a race on Monday drops to fourth overall while the top five is rounded out by Jørgen Lindhardtsen (DEN) after posting a sixth and seventh to add to his eighth from Monday. After just three races, the top five sailors are the only ones to maintain a single digit finish in each race.

Lindhardtsen is a former winner of the Finn World Masters, way back in 1985. At the time he was a full time circuit sailor and unsurprisingly won each and every race that year. It has taken him 24 years to decide to give it another go.

After a long day on the water in very hot and sunny conditions, the sailors were treated ashore to the championship dinner with a live jazz band. The Masters AGM will be held Wednesday morning before the single afternoon race starting at 13.00.

Results after three races (top 30)

1 FRA 75 Laurent HAY 3
2 CZE 1 Michael MAIER 6
3 GER 8 Jürgen EIERMANN 9
4 NED 780 Jan Willem KOK 12
5 DEN 208 Jørgen LINDHARDTSEN 21
6 BUL 24 Mihail KOPANOV 23
8 ITA 5 Francesco CINQUE 29
9 FRA 7 Stephane ALEXIS 30
10 GBR 2 Allen BURRELL 33
11 AUT 11 Bernd MOSER 34
12 GBR 8 Tim CARVER 42
13 HUN 17 Antal GABOR 46
14 SWE 721 Mikael BRANDT 46
15 NED 81 Gerko VISSER 49
16 NED 888 Luuk KUIJPER 52
17 GRE 71 Panagiotis DAVOURLIS 54
18 GBR 665 Julian SMITH 54
19 GER 28 Christian KÜHLWEIN 54
20 NED 747 Thierry VAN VIERSSEN 56
21 NED 69 Roel VAN OLST 56
22 GER 3 Walter MAI 61
23 GBR 12 Daniel BELTON 62
24 GBR 61 John HEYES 65
25 NED 39 ZOMER Hans 73
26 CZE 318 Martin PLECITY 73
27 NED 50 Jan ZETZEMA 74
28 CRO 110 Luksa CICARELI 76
29 DEN 2 Michael STAAL 77
30 GBR 68 John MACKIE 78

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top