Tim Wright / RORC / www.photoaction.com

Rambler 88 takes monohull line honours

But no record for George David's new maxi in the RORC Caribbean 600

Wednesday February 25th 2015, Author: RORC, Location: Antigua and Barbuda

George David's Juan K-designed Rambler 88 was the first monohull home in the RORC Caribbean 600, crossing the finish line at 06:35:12 local time today. Rambler 88 was approximately four hours short of the monohull race record, set by David's Rambler 100 in 2011.

David commented: "Rambler 88 was ahead of the monohull race record for some time, but the wind angle on the long leg to Guadeloupe was tighter than in 2012. Back then in Rambler 100, we were reaching, hitting a speed of over 20 knots, but this year that wasn't possible due to the wind angle. Rambler 88 is probably faster on every point of sail than the previous Rambler, but the weather really didn't work for us this year. Rambler 88 is an exciting boat to race, powerful and really wet on deck. We have moved a step closer to harnessing that power and the wet conditions are easily managed with good foul weather gear! A special course and a very well organised race. The RORC should be congratulated once again for producing a great event."

Multiple America's Cup winner and tactician on board, Brad Butterworth added: "This is the first time I have done this race and it is an interesting course from a tactical and navigational point of view. The islands are really beautiful but we didn't get much time to appreciate the scenery. However, apart from a few minor breakages, the boat has stood up very well and the different wind speeds and wind angles on this course have given us a lot of data and ideas which will go towards improving our performance. We have a big season planned and we have the potential to have a great 2015."

The crew of Rambler 88 comprised: George David (Owner), Rodney Ardern, Silvio Arrivabene Stuart Bannatyne, Scott Beavis, Curtis Blewett, Brad Butterworth, Simon Daubney, Wendy David, Jan Dekker, Brian Giorgio, Nathan Hislop, Brad Jackson, Jerome Kirby, William McCarthy, Artie Means, Robert Naismith, Mark Newbrook, Dean Phipps, Andrea Visintini, Matthew Welling, Stuart Wilson.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top