Jesus Renedo /

Shockwave comes out on top

Copa del Rey MAPFRE concludes

Saturday August 9th 2014, Author: James Boyd, Location: Spain

The 33rd Copa del Rey MAPFRE finished today in Palma de Mallorca. For the final day the Bay of Palma laid on irregular wind conditions that allowed only a single race to be sailed.

The fight for the title in the class Gaastra IRC 0 has been fierce throughout the week. Four out of the five Mini Maxi boats won at least one of the 11 races held, and the top three teams started the final day separated by just three points. The title was decided in the final race with victory and championship going to American George Sakellaris’ Shockwave. Hap Fauth’s Bella Mente (third today) and Roberto Tomasini’s Robertissima III (second today) completed the podium.

Paul Cayard reported from Robertissima: "The wind filled in so late that only one race was possible. When it filled it was the windiest of the week, at 18 knots.

"On Robertissima, we had a great start and controlled the race, leading at very mark including the finish. Bella Mente and Jethou both had bad starts, went right and was quite far behind after the first lap. Shockwave and Alegre sailed close to each other in second and third most of the race.

"Heading into the last windward mark Alegre slipped back a bit and Shockwave slipped in right between us. At that point we didn't have enough boats between us to win. With 22 knots of boat speed the run only lasted eight minutes. We crossed first with Alegre second, Shockwave third and Bella Mente 4th.

"As it was Shockwave won the regatta and even the race because the 25 seconds we beat them by wasn't enough. But we were tied with Bella Mente and would beat them on the tie breaker.

"After the race Alegre retired and this moved Bella Mente up to third in the race and second overall. It was all a bit hard for is to understand but we later found out that Alegre had touched the windward mark.

"Obviously we would have loved to have had the second race as we were going sailing well but we had passed the time for the last start for the day."

Mini Maxi photo gallery from Jesus Renedo /


H.R.M. King Felipe sailed in the final day of competition of the 33rd Copa del Rey MAPFRE, skippering the Spanish Navy’s TP52 Aifos to finish on a commendable fourth place in the class Gaastra IRC 1. In the fight for the championship, Giuseppe Parodi’s TP52 Hurakan didn’t give ground to any of his nine rivals. The Italian TP52 sealed her first title with seven victories in ten races, finishing second today behind Mergui Mikael’s GP42 Team Vision Future, which ended up second overall, followed by Austrian René Mangold’s Aquila.

Rafa Carbonell’s Swan 45 Rats on Fire successfully defended her title in the class BMW ORC 1. Skippered by Manuel Doreste, the boat won five out of the ten races sailed allowing Carbonell to claim his fourth title in the Copa del Rey MAPFRE (2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014). Second was Hendrik Brandis’ Earlybird, 15.5 points behind the champion, followed by Christian Plump’s Elena Nova, winner of the final race.

Enrique Terol’s Sinergia 40 Movistar finished the championship with the best results of the entire fleet: eight victories out of ten races in the BMW ORC 2 class. This victory is the sixth at Copa del Rey MAPFRE for the Galician team (2002, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2013 and 2014). It also means the seventh victory for her skipper, Pedro Campos, who sets a new record in the regatta (1993, 1995, 2002, 2006, 2009, 2013 and 2014). But there was exciting in the fight for second place, who finally went to Lluis Blanchar’s Varador 2000 (second today), ahead of Teo Matheu’s Airlan Aermec (winner of the last race). Just one point separated them in the final results.

In the Nespresso X-35 class, Alessandro Solerio’s Lelagain won today his second Copa del Rey MAPFRE. Seventh place in the last race was enough for the Italian team to claim final glory. One point behind was Javier Banderas’ Puerto Deportivo Benalmádena, skippered by Javier Cuevas, which was third today. Javier Sanz’s Red Eléctrica de España, skippered by Alberto Viejo, completed the podium, winning today's final race.

José María Torcida’s Noticia won in an overwhelming way in the Herbalife J/80 class. Torcida, double J/80 World Champion, led the class from the third day of racing, and completed the regatta with a 20 point margin over his nearest rival. Noticia won six out of the 12 races sailed, including today's. Carlos Martinez’s Movistar today finished second followed by Javier Padrón’s Herbalife.

H.R.M. King Felipe presided at the official prize giving ceremony of the 33rd Copa del Rey MAPFRE held in Ses Voltes.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top