Photo: Magnus Grubb

New J/24 World Champion crowned

Tim Healy comes out on top ahead of Britain's Ian Southworth

Friday August 20th 2010, Author: Chris McLaughlin, Location: Sweden

Tim Healy of USA has been crowned the 2010 J/24 World Champion.

Healy, racing Sailors for the Sea and his team, Borges, McLintock, Rubin and Mollicone, led the series with a solid display of speed and tactical experience and are worthy winners. Healey and crew capped their series with a 16th and 2nd today to take the title from Ian Southworth of Great Britain sailing Inmarsat Il Riccio, by ten points.

Southworth and crew, Andy McLelland, David Howlett, Chris McLaughlin and Julia (Jools) Scott scored a third and first today, but could only count boats as Healey headed to the finish line in the morning race. They needed him in 21st place for a final race battle. At the start of the first run, he was back in the 20s but managed to work through.

Both boats were secure with their final position. Healey totalled 24 points to Southworth's 36.

In third place was 2008 World Champion, Andrea Casale of Italy on 64 points. Argentina's (host of the 2011 Worlds) Matias Pereira finished fourth, the GB's Nathan Batchelor in Serco taking fifth. Triple World Champion, Mauricio Santa Cruz could only manage 9th.

Southworth has achieved the highest ever placing at a J/24 Worlds by a British boat.

Full results here

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top