Gartmore protest rejected

EDS finishing positions confirmed

Thursday August 2nd 2001, Author: John Greenland, Location: United Kingdom
Protest deemed invalid was the official response from the EDS Atlantic Challenge International Jury this morning. This decision is good news for the Kingfisher and Ecover crews as their finishing positions can now be confirmed as official.

The International Jury came to the unanimous decision that the protest was invalid during the pre-hearing stage of the process. According to the rules a boat must lodge a protest within four hours of discovering an alleged breach of the rules. Unfortunately for Gartmore this time period was found to have been exceeded.

Josh Hall, skipper on Gartmore, lodged the protest against the two boats alleging they had been privy to extra data regarding the Gulf Stream current. According to the rules the boats may use any information from the Internet that is available to all boats. This is the main method for collecting the weather information used by the boats tactical decisions during the racing.

Kingfisher and Ecover can now concentrate on their repair schedule with clear minds ready for the next start on 6 August.

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Tags

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top