ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards nominees

Awards winners to be presented in Greece next week

Wednesday November 3rd 2010, Author: Giles Pearman, Location: none selected

In just one week from today, on Tuesday 9 November, Greece will play host to a spectacular ceremony and presentation where the male and female winners of the 2010 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards will be announced.

The Zappeion in Athens will be the venue for the 2010 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards Dinner and Presentation. It is a night to celebrate sailing, for sailors and by sailors. The evening will be hosted by Rolex Testimonee and Olympic gold medallist Sofia Bekatorou-Kosmatopoulos and sailing presenter Richard Simmonds.

His Majesty King Constantine will announce the winners of this years Awards, presenting the unique marble and silver World Sailor Trophy and a personalized Rolex timepiece with His Royal Highness the Crown Prince of Denmark and Arnaud Boetsch of Rolex SA.

This year four female and six male nominees have been shortlisted for the Award, based on their achievements during the qualifying period of 1 September 2009 to 31 August 2010.

The 2010 nominees are:

Kristin Boese (GER) – Nine-time Kitesurf World Champion

Siripon Kaewduang-Ngam (THA) – Youth Olympic Games gold medallist

Blanca Manchón (ESP) – RS:X World Champion & Double World Cup Winner

Lisa Westerhof & Lobke Berkhout (NED) – 470 World Champions

Antoine Albeau (FRA) – Professional Windsurfing Association & Formula World Champion

Mat Belcher and Malcolm Page (AUS) – 470 World Champions and World Cup winners

Lorenzo Bressani (ITA) – Melges 24 and 32 Champion

Franck Cammas (FRA) – Record breaking offshore racer

Tom Slingsby (AUS) – Laser & Etchells World Champion

Ed Wright (GBR) – Finn World Champion and double World Cup Winner

The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award is the highest award a sailor can receive in recognition of his/her outstanding achievements. The Awards are presented annually based on a worldwide selection process that incorporates an open invitation to nominations, followed by a vote amongst the 130 member nations of the International Sailing Federation (ISAF).

The Awards have been held every year since 1994 and past winners include Peter Blake (NZL), Ellen MacArthur (GBR), Robert Scheidt (BRA) and Russell Coutts (SUI). In 2009 the Awards were presented to Torben Grael (BRA) and Anna Tunnicliffe (USA).

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in

Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top