Nominations go forward

Yachting Australia select their chosen representatives for the Olympics

Wednesday March 31st 2004, Author: Yachting Australia, Location: Australasia
Yachting Australia today nominated eighteen athletes to the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) for selection into the 2004 Australian Olympic Team. Selection of the Olympic Team will be conducted solely by the Australian Olympic Committee.

The nominated athletes are:

Event Name Class
Single-Handed Dinghy Men Anthony Nossiter Finn
Double-Handed Dinghy Men Nathan Wilmot and Malcolm Page 470
Single-Handed Dinghy Men Michael Blackburn Laser
Windsurfer Men Lars Kleppich Mistral
Keelboat Men Colin Beashel and David Giles Star
Single-Handed Dinghy Women Sarah Blanck Europe
Double-Handed Dinghy Women Jenny Armstrong and Belinda Stowell 470
Keelboat Women Nicky Bethwaite, Karyn Gojnich, Kristen Kosmala Yngling
Windsurfer Women Jessica Crisp Mistral
Double-Handed Dinghy Open Chris Nicholson and Gary Boyd 49er
Multihull Open Darren Bundock and John Forbes Tornado

At the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games the swimming team topped the medal count, whilst sailing finished second, with two gold, one silver and a bronze. Sailing is striving to go one better in Athens.

The nominated athletes together bring decades of experience and knowledge in competitive sailing, with eight of the 18 having won medals over the last three Olympic Games.

Yachting Australia CEO, Phil Jones is very pleased to nominate athletes with such strength and experience, "I am delighted that the nomination process has gone well and look forward to the AOC’s selection."

Latest Comments

Add a comment - Members log in


Latest news!

Back to top
    Back to top